History of the Capital Management Club

The Capital Management Club was formed in 2009 by undergraduates at the University with a passion for investing. The original group included 30 hard-working business students that collectively managed a long-short limited partnership. Members performed rigorous industry and company analysis in presenting ideas to the Club's portfolio managers.

In 2014, the Club was re-organized in association with the Business School's Hawk Center for Applied Investment Analysis to broaden participation and shift the focus primarily from portfolio management and market analysis to security analysis and issue selection, which better aligns with the interest of members. The Club regularly meets to review member investment pitches. Pitches receiving a favorable vote from at least 60% of members are purchased in a real-money portfolio sponsored by Hawk Center.   

The initial portfolio donation from the Hawk Center of $100,000 has since grown to an over $200,000 real world equity portfolio.  The students are grateful for the initial donation and have learned from executing transactions and watching the results over time. The "Portfolio Analyst" designation is awarded to students actively participating in Club activities after they have demonstrated competence in security analysis and successfully completed a pitch to the group. Associate membership is open to any student interested in investing.  All members receive access to and training in using the Factset Research service and gain additional exposure to Bloomberg.

Portfolio Analyst Resume Book

Our Executive Board

Charlie Forbes

President

Evan Salentine

Vice President

Sheldon Deng

Treasurer

Griffin Haase

Pitch Logistics Co-Chair

Elena Wallenfang

Pitch Logistics Co-Chair

Umer Sohail

Member Relations Chair

 

 

Taran Katta

Marketing Chair

Travis Bradford

Career Development Co-Chair

Brennan Flaherty

Career Development Co-Chair

Chris Duffy

Recruitment Chair

Kevin Wenzel

Event Chair

Portfolio Analysts


Travis Bradford - tbradford@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2021
LinkedIn
Sheldon Deng - sdeng44@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
LinkedIn

John Dietz - jgdietz@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2021
LinkedIn
Brennan Flaherty - bwflaherty@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2022
LinkedIn

Charles Forbes - crforbes@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
LinkedIn
Elise Gerard - egerard@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2021
LinkedIn

Griffin Haase - ghaase@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2021
LinkedIn
Patrick Hoffman - pjhoffman@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2021
LinkedIn

Taran Katta - tkatta@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2022
LinkedIn
Nicholas Mott - njmott@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2021
LinkedIn

Ari Natansohn - natansohn@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2021
LinkedIn
Evan Salentine - esalentine@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
LinkedIn

Elena Wallenfang - ewallenfang@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2022
LinkedIn
Kevin Wenzel - kmwenzel3@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
LinkedIn

Jacob Wolk - jlwolk@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2022
LinkedIn


Associate Members

An error has occurred. Error: Associate Members is currently unavailable.

CMC Advisors